When Gran Fiesta Tour Breaks Down

This past trip (four days ago, to be exact), I experienced something I had never had happen before – the Gran Fiesta Tour in the Mexico Pavillion at Epcot broke down. This was a totally new experience. I actually have never been on a water ride at Walt Disney World when it broke down. It all started when we were coming up to the “finale” of the ride – the stage where the Three Caballeros perform their show.

I noticed that the boats were getting backed up into the final room, the room we were in. Then, I noticed that our boat was going remarkably slower – which seemed odd to me since we’re floating in the water. Suddenly, the work lights came on (right in my face, I might add) as we slowly passed the stage where the Three Caballeros perform. Then, a pre-recorded (and extremely old fashioned sounding) announcement came over the speakers saying something to the effect of, “This ride is currently experiencing technical difficulties. Please remain in your boats, and a cast member will be there to assist you shortly. Thank you for your patience.”

It’s safe to say everyone around me was in a bad mood after this recording (which sounds as old as the park) repeated continuously for about 20 minutes. At that time, the still water around us started flowing strongly again, the work lights went off, and everyone started clapping. So there you have it folks – an attraction I thought couldn’t break down DID break down, and I actually enjoyed the whole “special” experience (as much as you can just sitting in a boat).

Now, I turn it over to you. What are some cool breakdown stories you have, or have heard? Let us know some of your stories – a ride you got stopped on, or maybe even had to evacuate from! Start a discussion in the comments now!

