The Great Debate: TTA Changes Good or Bad?

Hey there, it’s been a while! I was waiting to post this post until I had been to Walt Disney World myself to see the updated TTA/People Mover. I went last weekend, so now I think it’s time for me to share my opinion.

If you don’t know what happened yet, here it is: Disney closed the Tomorrowland Transit Authority when Space Mountain closed for major refurbishments. People were expecting new lighting and refurbished cars – but something that was completely unexpected to me was a new dialogue.

That’s right, the familiar deep, monotone voice, along with the well known male & female voices that used to be heard throughout the attraction have been removed. No more “Paging Mr. Morrow – Mr. Tom Morrow. Your party from Saturn has arrived. Please give them a ring.”

Instead, there is now a more energetic young man as the narrator. He is softer (I couldn’t even understand him the first half of the ride) and he basically just gives you a tour of Tomorrowland, promoting the rides in the surrounding area.

My thoughts on this are simple. I’m not that upset, for some reason. Sure I will miss the old narrations and such (D-CoT has some of the old announcements to listen to on demand), but I don’t think change is bad. Everyone will get used to the new narrator, and who knows, in a few years he might be the “classic” that everyone wants to keep.

All I’m saying is – are these new changes really that bad? Share your thoughts below; let us know what you think of these changes if you’ve seen them (or at least watched a Youtube video).

Share this post on Twitter

Photo: scottbowling
