Disney’s Awesome Things #12: The Bilingual Ride Safety Spiels

#12 I think it’s fair to say that I’m completely obsessed with the Disney ride safety spiels – it’s always one of the main things I look forward to hearing when I arrive. When I hear it, I know I’m in Disney.

The Spanish parts are always my favorite, mainly because I find Spanish very interesting and actually know what they are saying. Look below for some Spanish spiels – as you might have not known what the words look like written out.

I find it amazing and extremely interesting that Disney somehow finds a way to take a generic safety spiel in English and Spanish and transform it – making it fit the theme of the current attraction. How clever is that?

Here’s some examples:

And now, a carriage approaches – taking you into the boundless realm of the supernatural. Once on board, remain safely seated with your hands, arms, feet, and legs inside. And, watch your children…please.

Un carruaje que se a se. Y ahora: permanezca sentado y mantengo las manos, brazos, pies, y piernas dentro de vehiculo. Y cuida los pequeñitos. ¡Y ahora – preparase!

Or maybe this one:

Ahoy, mateys! For your safety, remain seated with yer hands, arms, feet, and legs inside the boat. And no flash pictures. Prepare to make sail!

Para su seguridad, permanezca sentado con las manos, brazos, pies, y piernas dentro el barco. Y cuida sus niños. ¡Muchas gracias!

Or my personal favorite:

Attention, Expedition Everest team members, once on board, secure all gear in the cargo pouch in front of you – then, pull down on the restraint. For your safety, remain seated and keep your hands, arms, feet, and legs inside the train – and watch your children.

¡Atención los miembros del equipo de Expedición Everest! Una vez a bordo, asegurar todas las artes en la sección de carga frente a usted. Entonces, baje el cinturón de seguridad. Para su seguridad, permanezca sentado con las manos, brazos, pies, y piernas dentro el tren. Y cuida los ninos. Gracias.

Am I weird for liking the safety spiels? Which one is your favorite? Should this even make the Awesome Things list? Let me know!

You should follow me on Twitter.

